Previous Town Awards

In 1979 the Ware Society started the Town Award scheme to celebrate and encourage developments that enhance our town and we have all of the winners on this page. The award is a special plaque presented to the winner at our November meeting. Periodically we invite nominations from members for new buildings, restorations or landscaping, any developments or projects that enhance the appearance or amenity of the town.

An award of a special plaque is presented to representatives of the winner at our November meeting. Over the years winners have included restoration of the building which is now Jacoby’s restaurant, the Maltmaker Statue, restoration of the Railway Station and the residential development French Horn.

In 2018 seven nominations were considered by the judging panel. Their decision was that the award should go to The Church of the Sacred Heart of Jesus and St Joseph for their newly developed Parish Centre. The Centre provides a great community space whilst its design and construction is visually appealing

 and in keeping with the church itself. The award which was presented at our November meeting was accepted by Fr.John Gray, the priest in charge during the development and construction, and Fr.Charles Cahill the present incumbent.


A certificate of commendation was also awarded to ZFS Properties Ltd for the restoration and  redevelopment of what was the Old Independent Chapel.

Dating from 1778 the building has now been renamed Godwin House after Charles Godwin the first minister of the chapel. The work carried out by ZSF has not only prevented the almost certain loss of this historic in building but by converting it to residential  use has brought back to life what was a long neglected heritage asset for the town. The Award was accepted by Mr A Garley and Mr Steve Collins on behalf of the developer.

Previous Winners

2018 - Sacred Heart Church Parish Centre













2016 - Musley School

2014 – The Ware Memorial Refurbishment

2012 – The Drill Hall

2010 – Playing On The Wild Side

2008 – Fletcher’s Lea

2006 – Bates Walk Overmantle

2003 – Jacoby’s

2001 – The Maltmaker Statue

1999 – The French Horn Development

1997 – The Station Hotel Development

1995 – The Octagon

1991 - Riverside Mews

1989 – Ware Station

1987 - Leaside Mews

1985 – The Water Gate

1983 - Dolphin House

1981 – Water Row

1979 – Library Extension